While the “eviction moratorium” is set to expire at the end of this month (June 2021), Oregon landlords should think twice before sending out termination notices for non-payment in July. The Oregon legislature is poised to enact another tenant protection law, SB 278, which will prohibit landlords from terminating tenancies for non-payment for 60 days if the tenant has applied for rental assistance through the state. After a tenant delivers documentation showing they have applied for rental assistance, the landlord would then need to wait 60 days before proceeding with any termination process. SB 278 will also provide increased funding for landlord compensation in certain circumstances. This is in addition to the funds available to landlords under the state’s new Landlord Compensation Fund.
There have been other major changes to lease termination rules, procedures, and notice periods. Given all the new laws enacted to deal with the COVID-19 crisis, landlords should seek competent legal advice before issuing any termination notices.